My Top 20 Favorite Books

Books

So my life is a little crazy right now. I am leaving on a mini vacation to Colorado tomorrow and I am really excited about it! I have never been to Colorado, so if you have tips or suggestion, let me know in the comments! With vacation on the horizon, work is slow but insane at the same time (how? Don’t ask), church is getting busier with our new building/Easter is around the corner, and school has pretty much taken over my life. With all this in mind, I haven’t been finishing books as fast as I would normally. I always read before bed, but lately due to the amount of studying I am doing with my midterm being next week, I have been falling asleep while I read. Usually I will wake when the book randomly hits me in the head, and I have a nice mark on my forehead from the lovely hardback that wacked me in the head the other night to prove it.

Since being on vacation, and my midterm next week I won’t really have time to read or write a blog post next week or maybe the week after. : (  , Sad Panda. Alas, life is getting a little busier than I anticipated but I found a solution! I decided to share with you all my top 20 favorite books and just write this little post to get you through till the next one! Am I the only one who thinks when someone asks “what is your favorite book?” I always struggle to find an answer? Are they asking my favorite book of all time or my favorite book of the moment? It is such a loaded question that I end up forgetting every book I have ever read. Asking me what my favorite book is, would be equivalent to asking me if I prefer sleeping or eating? So when making this list, I struggled a little bit at first but then the memory flooded in as to the sheer amount of books I have read, btw it’s A LOT.  My top 10 usually remain the same but they may change position based on my mood or the current season of my life. The list did start off with 5 then grew to 10, then 15 and so on. I kept thinking of other books I wanted and needed to mention, and there are many more that I could mention, but I finally stopped at 20. So, with the best of my abilities I manage to make up a top 20 list for your review. Check out the list for yourself, are any of your favorites in there?

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  2. Fatherland – Robert Harris
  3. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
  4. Outlander – Diana Gabaldon
  5. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoevsky
  6. The Killer Angels – Michael Shaara
  7. A Crimson Warning – Tasha Alexander
  8. Gone with the Wind – Margaret Mitchell
  9. Even Cowgirls Get the Blues – Tom Robbins
  10. Eugen Onegin – Alexander Pushkin
  11. The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
  12. Exodus – Uris Leon
  13. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
  14. Macbeth – William Shakespeare
  15. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  16. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
  17. Interview with the Vampire- Anne Rice
  18. The French Lieutenants Woman – John Fowles
  19. Winds of War – Herman Wouk
  20. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

What are your favorite books?? Do you only have a select few or are you like me and have too many to count? Be sure to share with me your favorite in a post or in the comments below! Would love to see what books you can’t live without!

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “My Top 20 Favorite Books

  1. I always have trouble thinking of my favorites, but my answer for my top favorite usually always is The Historian By: Elizabeth Kostova. It just has everything I love in a book. 🙂

    Like

    1. Muito lindo amei a camisa branca, parabéns! Que Deus ilumine sua semana! bjos! linda[]Camila Coelho Repeendou:Sestembpr 24th, 2012 em 11:17 am, Que sua semana seja abencoada tb amore! Um beijaooo[]

      Like

    2. I have realized that car insurance providers know the motors which are liable to accidents and other risks. Additionally , they know what kind of cars are inclined to higher risk as well as higher risk they’ve the higher the particular premium amount. Understanding the basic basics involving car insurance will assist you to choose the right form of insurance policy which will take care of your needs in case you become involved in an accident. Thank you sharing your ideas on your own blog.

      Like

  2. My favorites are Stranger in a Strange Land by Heinlein and Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand. I’d also give nods to Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein and Odd Thomas series; Michael Connelly’s The Poet; and Nelson DeMille’s Up Country and Nightfall.

    It’s fun to see what other people read and deem their favorites. So many books, so little time. 🙂

    Writer Chick

    Like

Leave a Reply

